Haiku Year 24, Week 10; August 14th to August 20th

I’ve now been working on this project for ten weeks! August 14-17 were pictures taken on my trip to Maine to be there for my cousin’s wedding. I couldn’t resist adding photos from the flights. The 16th was taken from my Aunt’s back porch- the same Aunt that suggested I begin adding photos to go along with these little poems. I love all my family and friends.

I’m trying to make my videos shorter and more to the point, while still providing enough information to let a viewer know what I’m doing. A week may be going by between posts for me, but for posterity, the intros and outros may become wearisome if they’re watching these back to back.

I’ve thought about the differences between recording indoors and recording outdoors. Outdoors is full of distracting noised but also captures the moment in time. Cicadas in August! I will not be doing it outdoors during the winter. I figure I’ll do what I can, when I can.

Here are seven fresh pieces, ending with August 10th and the 70th haiku!

The Haiku:

August 14th #64/365

View from the air:

City along the river

Green trees, blue water.
August 14th


August 15th #65/365

A calm lake in Maine

Where birds sing of these stories:

Water leaf and sky
August 15th



August 16th #66/365

The treeline at dusk

Launchpad for ravenous bats

Mosquitoes beware.
August 16th


August 17th #67/365

Over-encumbered

To rain on New York City,

Clouds drop their burdens.
August 17th



August 18th #68/365

Seated heavily,

An abandoned metal gate

guards a forest path.
August 18th


August 19th #69/365

The hoods of warm cars.

Enjoying life’s small pleasures-

The tabby cat, Thor.
August 19th



August 20th #70/365

Quickly rush outdoors

Black helicopter convoy

Buzzing the blue sky.
August 20th

Thanks for reading. See you next week.

5 thoughts on “Haiku Year 24, Week 10; August 14th to August 20th

  1. Pingback: Purrsday Poetry: Haiku for Thor the Tabby by Grayson | Katzenworld

Leave a comment